The Nova Award program consists of individual activity elements in various STEM topics structured for Webelos Scouts. Webelos Nova requirements are the same as Cub Scouts

Webelos Scout Activity Badges with STEM-related requirements: Communicator, Engineer, Forester, Geologist, Naturalist, and Scientist.

Webelos Scout Nova Awards:

science everywhere
Science Everywhere
tech talk
Tech Talk
1-2-3 go
1-2-3 Go!

Webelos Scout Supernova Award

To earn the Webelos Scout Supernova award, you must be a Webelos Scout who is active with a den. With your parent's and unit leader's help, you must select a council-approved Mentor who is a registered Scouter. You may NOT choose your parent or your unit leader (unless the mentor is working with more than one youth).

If you earned the Cub Scout Supernova award, you must repeat similar requirements while you are a Webelos Scout.

Although it is not a requirement, it is recommended that you earn at least two of the four Nova awards for Cub Scouts before earning the Dr. Charles H. Townes Supernova Award.

Application for the Supernova award is submitted to the district Nova or Advancement committee for approval.

Important: Please view the SCCBSA Council presentation - this will help answer the majority of your questions.

A Note to the Counselor
The Webelos Scout Supernova award recognizes superior achievement by a Webelos Scout in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM). All experiments or projects should be conducted using the highest level of safety protocol and always under the supervision of a qualified, responsible adult.

Nova Program Cub Scout/Webelos Guide Book
All requirements may be found in the Nova awards guidebooks, available in printed versions through our local Scout shops, or the guide can be downloaded below. Also see the Nova Program Counselors and Supernova Award Mentors Flyer

[Return to STEM Main Page]